This documentation is for WSO2 Business Rules Server 2.0.0.View documentation for the latest release.
||
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Roles contain permissions for users to manage the Server. You can create different roles with various combinations of permissions and assign them to a user or a group of users. Through the management console, you can also edit and delete an existing user role.

Adding a User Role

Follow the instructions below to add a user role.

1. Log on to the product's Management Console and select "Users and Roles" under the "Configure" menu.

For example,

users and roles

2. In the "User Management" window which appears, click the "Roles" link.

user management

3. In the "Roles" window, click on the "Add New Role" link.

add new user role

4. Enter the name for the role and click "Next". You can also click "Finish", in which case, the new roles will be created with default permissions (none) and no assigned users.

Add user role

5. If you proceed, you will be asked to select permission for the new role. Click "Next" once done.

select permission

6. Select the users that will be assigned to the role. You can conduct a search by name, or view all users by entering "*" into the search field.

Add new role

Click the "Finish" button once user is selected.

7. The new role is added to the list.

Add new role

When Adding Roles to External User Stores

  • Some external user stores do not allow you to create empty roles. In that case, selecting users who belong to a role is mandatory.
  • If you connect to an external user store in read only mode, you can read existing roles from it but you can not edit/delete the roles. In this case, you can still create new roles which are editable and can be managed internally.
  • If you connect to an external user store in read/write mode, you can edit the roles in the external user store as well.

Editing a User Role

1. Log on to the product's Management Console and select "Users and Roles" under the "Configure" menu.

2. In the "User Management" window which appears, click on the "Users" link.

Edit users

3. From the list of users, find the user whose role you want to change and click the "Roles" link associated with it.

Roles

4. The window that opens contains information about the roles assigned to that user. Select the role you want to assign using the check boxes and click "Update".

update user role

5. The user role will be changed. The program goes back to the user menu.

Deleting a User Role

Follow the instructions below to delete a user role.

1. Log on to the product's Management Console and select "Users and Roles" under the "Configure" menu.

2. In the "User Management" window which appears, click the "Roles" link.

3. Click the "Delete" link associated with the role you want to delete.

4. Accept the confirmation request.


  • No labels